Tuesday, October 2, 2018

October 2, 2018

It took 163 games to figure it out, but Jud Ehrbar is the winner of the 2018 MLB Predictions Pool. Jud becomes the first entrant to win the pool outright in two different seasons.
  • First-time entrant Greg Glassman made an all-time pool record three unique picks this year: J.D. Martinez (AL RBI), Edwin Díaz (AL saves), and Jacob deGrom (NL ERA). Michael Orobona was alone in picking Christian Yelich to win the NL batting title.
  • Daltry-Lovejoy led the pool with 63 tiebreaker points, aided by their selection of Cole Hamels (12 HB for Texas and 7 for the Cubs).
  • Runner-up Harvey Hawkins had his strongest finish to date this year, smashing his previous best of 16th place.

Here are the season category leaders, with bold indicating players we actually chose:
AL BA: Mookie Betts
AL HR: Khris Davis
AL RBI: J.D. Martinez (1)
AL R: Mookie Betts, Francisco Lindor
AL SB: Whit Merrifield (2)
NL BA: Christian Yelich (1)
NL HR: Nolan Arenado (8)
NL RBI: Javier Báez
NL R: Charlie Blackmon (14)
NL SB: Trea Turner (6)

AL IP: Corey Kluber (6)
AL W: Blake Snell
AL ERA: Blake Snell
AL SO: Justin Verlander
AL S: Edwin Díaz (1)
NL IP: Max Scherzer (7)
NL W: Jon Lester, Miles Mikolas, Max Scherzer (4)
NL ERA: Jacob deGrom (1)
NL SO: Max Scherzer (12)
NL S: Wade Davis (2)

AL HBP: Carlos Gómez (2)
NL HBP: Brandon Nimmo
AL HBP: Charlie Morton (7), Rick Porcello
NL HBP: Zack Godley, Max Scherzer (5), José Ureña (4)

Big thanks to Kate, Steve, and Greg for joining this year, and kudos to Brian for making the daily Twitter and blog updates possible. Enjoy the postseason!

No comments:

Post a Comment